27.10.15 – Making Rocks

PROJECT OUTLINE
Learning the basics of Mudbox by sculpting and creating a rock/s.

STEP 1
We first had to find a reference image from google. The image I chose was this:

rock_group


STEP 2
We then used one of Mudbox’s pre-made 3D polygonal mesh sculptures: the cube.

cube


STEP 3
Then by using various sculpt tools, we began sculpting the cube to make it look more like the rock from our reference image. The tools I used mainly for this task where these:

sculpttools


STEP 4
The imprint tool mentioned above allowed me to give texture to my rock by then using stamps. I chose a variety of them and occasionally played around with their properties in order to achieve the desired result. I also increased the number of subdivision levels in order to get a higher level of detail.

stamps


STEP 5
I then added some light and rendered out a few images of my rocks.

Rocks 2 Rocks 3

Rocks 4 Rocks

Leave a comment